Skip to content

CBS and GQ Get It Wrong

May 3, 2010

Recently, CBS highlighted GQ’s list: 50 Beers to Try Now.  Next time, they would benefit from a more knowledgeable individual.  Don’t get me wrong, I like the fact that craft beer is getting some press time.  I just wish they would get it right.  You’ve got plenty of staff; figure it out!

Right off the bat, they categorize Allagash White as a weizen/weissbier.  No, it’s a wit.  The style is indigenous to Belgium, not Germany.  Their is a difference, and you should know this when you taste it.

They also discuss Dale’s Pale Ale.  Sour?  Are you serious?  Bitter, yes.  Sour, no!

The other one that hit me the wrong way was their description of Anchor Steam as a transitional/gateway beer from light lagers in general.  Their reason?  Anchor Steam is a lager also.  Would you also say that about Salvator or any other bock beer?  The California Common (a.k.a. steam beer) is anything but a gateway beer.  It has a full hop presence, with a robust flavor (at least comparatively to a mass produced light lager).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 10:21 am

    Yeah pretty ridiculous. I have heard beer gurus argue that Anchor Steam, while utilizing what some would call a “lager strain,” may not qualify as a lager because it is fermented at ale temperatures.

    Kudos for trying, but they really need to get a real beer expert to front such lists.

  2. May 4, 2010 10:48 am

    Like the Red Hook brewery tour, this list is intended for the broader audience I think. People who know beer won’t be looking to CBS News for tips. (I bet most people don’t look to CBS News for news either!)

  3. May 4, 2010 11:15 am

    The GQ list itself was rather good. Some beers I haven’t heard of, some that I have and not yet tasted, and many that I have tasted. It’s a good variety, but of course, I would have assembled a different list. I did get a chuckle out their fascination with corked beer bottles.

    I suppose I’m something of an idealist. I expect news organizations to be accurate in their reporting.

  4. Don permalink
    May 6, 2010 12:34 pm

    Well, there is no Bad Press, right? Yeah they got it wrong, alot wrong, but if a guy decides to try Dales because of it is that so bad? Really only beer nerds care too much about such things. You should hear the local news try to describe traffic engineering! Aye! But at least they let people know something is up at a particular intersection, even if the details are wrong.

  5. May 6, 2010 1:21 pm

    Fair points, Don. But I doubt most craft beer novices wouldn’t head for a sour beer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

