Skip to content

Texas Beer Traveling

May 19, 2010

Blogging has been a little lighter lately and will continue to be so for the next couple of weeks (did you even notice?!) due to preparations for a sojourn back to the “Promised Land.”  My beloved wife’s family is having several big events, including a wedding, and thus we must head back for a visit to revel in the company family, old friends, and the hot, Texas sun.  Yee haw!

During this time while I am back in Texas, I will of course be taking the opportunity to quaff a few brews with friends and family, looking to try some new things and even a few old ones that aren’t readily available in Western Washington.  About this time last year, we made a similar trip.  Just my luck, Thank Heaven for Beer had a review up for Southern Star Brewery’s Pine Belt Pale Ale.  Unable to find it here in Seattle, I knew the opportunity was nigh for trying it.

However, Southern Star being a relatively young brewery, didn’t have very much distribution at that time.  While in Texas, I had trouble finding it at the store.  I decided to contact the brewery to see if that could help direct this misplaced Texan’s search.  They came through!  Woot!  I got an e-mail soon thereafter giving me some ideas about different stores in the Austin and Dallas areas that stocked Pine Belt Pale Ale.  I love it that a small brewery took the time to help a guy find some beer.  (Gig’ em, Dave!)  They didn’t have to, but they did.  Big points in my book.  Good beer, good people.

Now, I’m coming back for more.  And I can’t wait to try their Buried Hatchet Stout and Bombshell Blonde.  Hopefully, I can get my hands on some Real Ale, Rahr & Sons, Franconia and more!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Don permalink
    May 20, 2010 12:19 pm

    Looks like Miles and Miles of Idaho, just greener! Have a great trip Tex, and remember to bring an empty suitcase for all the brews you will be bringing back.

  2. May 20, 2010 8:53 pm

    Its always nice to go home. Unless home is New Jersey, and then it would actually be nicer to leave home! Anyway, have a good trip and we’ll be here when you get back! (watch out for tumbleweeds)

  3. May 21, 2010 5:54 am

    Yeah, Have fun! Snag some of that PineBelt. From what I’ve read, the brewery deserves a lot of respect. That buried hatchet stout is fantastic! I think it’s cool they bought their brewhouse off eBay!

Leave a Reply

