Skip to content

Reflections on Fathers’ Day

June 22, 2010

Fathers’ Day has come and gone, and this year’s being my 8th Fathers’ Day was a good one.  It was a much quieter day than the previous two years, when I had attended the Washington Brewers’ Festival.  With the weekend filled with other activities, Sunday was a day to spend at home and rest.  We spent the day playing games like UNO and Connect Four with our four kids.

But what made this day so special was my children.  Their gift to me this year was rather simple, but simple is good.  I didn’t get any jazz cd’s, nor did I get any books on Austrian economic theory.  No, they along with my wife found something simple, yet was altogether me.  The theme, of course, ended up being beer from the greeting card to the gifts themselves: two pint glasses from a local brewery and some beer with which to fill them.  Simple.  And wonderful.

I suppose the reason this particular gift touched me so, was that it wasn’t something I had put on a wishlist.  It was their own ingenuity and knowledge of just who I am and what I like that made it so great.  My wife was telling me that while they were at the store selecting the card, the kids were all too insistent that it had to be the beer card, and not any other card.  They get me.  They know what makes me tick.  And each time I grab a beer, they come clamoring, “Daddy, can I have a sip?!”

Fatherhood: I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Don permalink
    June 22, 2010 3:22 pm

    Sounds like a great day Tex. I enjoy going and doing things too, but it is hard to beat a kick back day of rest and relaxation!

  2. June 23, 2010 9:23 am

    Nice! I’d love to meet your family someday. I am sure your kids enjoyed giving you a beer related gift…I’m sure it’s easier to understand than Murray Rothbard or Ludwig Von Mises.

    • Big Tex permalink
      June 23, 2010 9:37 am

      Rothbard, von Mises, Woods, and Hayak will be introduced when they are older. 🙂 But as I introduce them to different beers, I also love introducing them to different genres of music. I really enjoy sharing Miles Davis, John Coltrane and Dave Brubeck with them, but they still prefer rock, ska, and western swing.

      • June 23, 2010 11:48 am

        I’m the same way. My seven year old is HUGE into The White Stripes right now after hearing the only song I have of theirs. Last month he came home from school rapping. I knew then and there he was going to be homeschooled next year.

      • Big Tex permalink
        June 23, 2010 11:54 am

        My son is all about Skillet, though he also really likes the OC Supertones and Five Iron Frenzy.

Leave a Reply

