Skip to content

Cravings

July 12, 2010

Do you ever get cravings?  I do.  How about for something you really haven’t had a lot of?  This was me on Saturday.  I “needed” a beer, but not just any beer.  I had some IPA in the kegorator, and it’s a tasty one at that.  But no, I wasn’t in the mood for IPA.  I needed something different… something sour.  Not fruity and tart, but sour.  A sour that is balanced with some sweetness, like in good a lemonade.  I was craving that kind of balance in a beer, and ended up going for a saison.

You see, we just had our first warm spell of the summer here in the Puget Sound.  We actually hit the 90’s on a couple days.  (Yes, I know, it could be worse.)  Fortunately for me, my house is situated in a place where I can get a great breeze off the Sound even though I live more than a mile from the water.  (I love old homes for this!)  But even though I had a great breeze, it was still warm and I needed refreshment.  During all this warmth, I thoroughly enjoyed drinking IPA, but it wasn’t hitting the spot like it normally does.  I couldn’t place my finger on what it was that I was craving, until I stumbled across some internet chatter and photos of some sour beers.  Eureka!  I knew now what I was looking for.

After I put the kids to bed on Saturday, I ventured off the best beer selection in my neighborhood to acquire the sour ale.  In the cooler were several selections from Lindeman’s: Framboise, Pêche, and Kriek.  But, I wasn’t looking for that heavy sweetness that goes with lambics.  Close, but no cigar.  The only other sour offering was Saison Dupont.  Ok, so not much for selection, eh?  However, I thought, “It’s sour and not a lambic, therefore she’s coming home with me”.  I even saw the Rate Beer tag, letting me know that this indeed is a fine beer, appreciated by beer drinkers far and wide.

This was only my second saison.  While it was quite a delicious beer, and it really hit the spot with the recent heat, I ended up coming away wishing for a little more.  Saison Rue was my first, and she will always have a special place in my heart.  The Rue is bigger, and maltier than the Dupont.  It left me with more tartness than the Dupont as well.  Will I go back to Dupont, most likely yes.  She is a wonderful beer that stands well on her own.  But she will never be my first love.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 6:41 am

    I love Saisons! I’ve brewed 2, and one (the one on FB) is prominently sour. In fact, it whoops on Saison Rue as far as sour content goes.

    I wish I lived that close to the water!

Leave a Reply

