Skip to content

Beer Festivals

August 13, 2010

Nate posed an interesting question over at ThankHeavenforBeer.com.  Would you rather go to #GABF or Oktoberfest?

Hands down, I’d go to Oktoberfest.  Why?  The culture, the beer, the food, and the tradition.  As culture goes, my heritage is predominantly German.  My great great grandparents emigrated from Germany in the second half of the 19th century.  We hail from a small town called Schermbeck in Westphalia.  While Westphalia isn’t Bavaria, the home of Oktoberfest, it still shares many aspects of German culture such as great beers.  This heritage has been an important aspect of our family for several generations.  After arriving in Kossuth County Iowa and marrying, my great great grandparents moved south to North Texas where a new farming community was coming together of German Catholic immigrants.  To this day, much of my family still resides in and around Muenster, TX where wonderful German delights such as sausages and strudels are available at the local grocer.  In addition to that, the town holds an annual party celebrating German-American culture in April called Germanfest.

Being of German descent, I do love to eat sausage and sauerkraut.  I’m a sucker for jäger schnitzel as well paired up with weinkraut and spätzle.  Foods such as these aren’t the easiest to come by.  German food isn’t nearly as possible as Mexican, Italian, Chinese, and Thai food.  I’m not really sure why, but it is a cross I bear.

Beer and tradition really go together, since Germany has a long and proud brewing tradition.  The nation boasts some of the finest ales, lagers and weizens the world has to offer.  And when you narrow the scope down to traditional styles, it is my opinion that Germany stands head and shoulders above most other nations.  Germany has many breweries that date back into the Middle Ages including Weihenstephaner, originally established in 1040 A.D.  To put that into perspective, this is 14 years prior to the Great Schism of 1054 A.D. between the Eastern and Western portions of Christendom.

I’m a sucker for tradition.  I’m a sucker for German food.  I want to visit Germany and visit some sites from whence my family came.  German beers were my first love when it comes to good beer.  And I still love them dearly.  For these reasons and others which I haven’t articulated, Oktoberfest over GABF… anyday.

How ’bout you?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Don permalink
    August 16, 2010 10:45 am

    Plus (lets be honest here) the boobs are nice too! Beer and Boobs just go together like Rootbeer and Ice cream, or Boobs and anything. SO I’d love to go to Bavaria too, get hammered and watch the cleavage! 😉

  2. Don permalink
    August 23, 2010 2:31 pm

    OK, now that Jim and I are actually going to GABF, I guess my answer is GABF. But I think that has more to do with cost than anything else.

  3. Big Tex permalink
    August 23, 2010 2:38 pm

    I hear ya, Don. Cost is definitely a factor. Colorado is much easier to get to than Bavaria. But, of course, if money wasn’t the issue, then my choice stands.

    I suppose the outfits of the German “beeristas” is part of the tradition. You just won’t find me in a traditional outfit.

Leave a Reply

